A few thoughts to bring in the New Year……

 

 

Today we’ve been tidying away the Christmas tree, putting all the decorations carefully and lovingly back into their boxes, ready for next year, so we can start the new year fresh and clean.

…….I guess that’s what I want for my life too really, to start fresh and clean. To leave those grudges behind, to wipe the slate clean, to make the decision to forgive and forget, and to choose to move forward. It doesn’t take away the pain you’ve been through, or the grieving you maybe going through. And sadly it doesn’t magically mean I’m all better and the daily pain has disappeared, ……. Although I continue to pray one day that will be the case!!

Life is tricky, for all of us, just in different ways. Each New Year brings its trials, that we will somehow have to find the strength to keep on going in-spite of. But it’s through those difficult times that we grow from, they make us the person we are today. From failure we learn, so is it really failure, if we allow ourselves to make the choice to learn & grow from it in some way?

This last year has been tough, with 2 months of it spent in hospital over 3 stays, fighting a number of health issues, and a surgery which didn’t quite go to plan, spending a week in icu, (with a night where they struggled to keep me here!!), and leaving an open wound that nearly 8 weeks later is still trying to heal with a special suction dressing on.
I’ve barely been out the house this year, because of my health issues, which as a social butterfly I’ve found really difficult.

…….But if all we do is focus on all the hardships we go and have gone through, that’s all we will see! What about the good stuff, the blessings, big and small! For me it’s;
-Having a family who are happy and healthy,
-My husband who continues to work his arse off for our 082729E9-7505-410D-938D-E6A28EC41112          family,
-My kids who continue to work hard and are both doing really well at school!
-Having a teen and almost teen, who still want to spend time as a family,7C864396-D150-49AA-BDE9-F5CB54609F28
-Friends who are there for me, new and old!
-Then having an amazing surgeon who managed to cope when all hell broke loose in theatre!
-An amazing nursing staff care so well for me, both in ICU, and on Hatton ward.

I won’t just get over all that went on last year, it’s part of me and my story, but as time goes on it won’t effect me quite so much. I know there’s still more to face with my health as we move into 2018, but I want to start this year focusing on the positive stuff, reminding myself that yes life is far from perfect, but that it is also full of many blessings big and small, …………if we look for them!

 

 

About Miss UnstoppaBull

Mama, wife, and lover of life, I love to be creative, Am learning to live with pain, And I trust God with all my heart!
This entry was posted in #Thankful, Battle Scars, family, Hope in God, Living with grief, Living With Pain, Precious moments, Remembering Them, Thankfulness, The Deafening Sound of Silence, Trust in God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment